Monday , February 26 2024

Among many others two Sabans nominated for Pearl awards

The Daily Herald writes that Quinsy Gario, Mischulaikah Richardson, Jean Marie Molina, Raphael Sorton, Uri Johan Nicolas Eugenio, Shirma Rouse and Nataly Linzey are among the nominees for the Dutch Caribbean Pearls that will be awarded in Rotterdam this Saturday. During the annual awards show, a celebration of the social achievements of the Dutch Caribbean community in the Netherlands, community role models will be honoured for their exemplary contributions and achievements in the past year. A jury recently selected the nominees for the various categories: Social & Community, Science & Technology, Arts & Literature, Sports, Music & Entertainment, Entrepreneurship and Student of the Year.

Saba author/retired civil servant Raphael Sorton and dancer/teacher/choreographer/ designer Uri Johan Nicolas Eugenio of St. Maarten have been nominated in the category Arts & Literature. Nataly Linzey of St. Maarten/ Saba is in the race in the category Student of the Year. Linzey, who studies HBO Law, was a member of the Caribbean Netherlands team at the Kingdom Youth Parliament.

All nominees are in the race for the title “Most Outstanding Pearl,” which is the only award that is determined by way of an audience vote. The public may vote on website stem-op-uw-pearl/ until June 13.

The organising committee of the Dutch Caribbean Pearls announced the nominees late last week after a panel of judges reviewed an extensive list of names. It was not an easy job as there was an enormous amount of nominee submissions. “This has in fact been the largest display of enthusiasm for nominating persons for the prestigious awards thus far,” stated Johan Oldenboom of the organising committee. The panel of judges consists of Aisata Blackman, Joop Hallman, Danitzah Jacobs, Milly Kock, John Leerdam, Yadira Wall and Xiarella Lewis. The third annual gala and awards Pearls of the Dutch Caribbean 2014 show is an initiative of the Consultative Body for Dutch Caribbean persons living in the Netherlands OCAN. This year’s theme will be “Change, we make the change and we are all part of the change.” Minister of Home Affairs Ronald Plasterk and Rotterdam Mayor Ahmed Aboutaleb are scheduled to attend the event, which will be preceded by a networking event. Participating artists at the Pearls of the Dutch Caribbean gala and awards include Vince Irie, K’ribe, Recruitz Band and DJ Curteez.


Saba is losing 1.25 million euros and much, much more.
Road map of Statia published, Saba’s map is four years in delay