Monday , February 26 2024

Saba ushers in Chinese New Year with a bang

The Chinese community in Saba, on Monday, welcomed the Year of the Monkey with a spectacular fireworks display in Windwardside, writes The Daily Herald.

Chinese New Year’s fireworks display in Windwardside.

Chinese New Year’s fireworks display in Windwardside.

Lunar New Year is celebrated around the world in communities with large Chinese populations. The New Year, also known as the Spring Festival, is marked by the Lunisolar Chinese calendar with the dates changing from year to year.

The festivities usually start the day before the New Year and continue until the Lantern Festival, which is celebrated on the 15th day of the new year.

Each Chinese New Year is characterised by one of 12 animals which appear in the Chinese zodiac. The Chinese zodiac is divided into 12 blocks or houses, just like its western counterpart, but with the major difference being that each house has a time-length of one year, instead of one month.

This year it is the Year of the Monkey, the ninth animal in the cycle. The next Year of the Monkey will be in 2028.

Opinion: Why are certain things allowed on Saba
Youth and Family Centre launches new radio show